Author Topic: Scopes  (Read 2541 times)

Timothy

Scopes
« on: September 15, 2009, 06:44:43 PM »
Ok guys, I have NO experience with scopes but know enough about optics to understand some of the numbers.  Please explain, in simple terms, what the numbers mean when identifying the magnification for a specific scope.  I've seen a few different ways but don't know what number is the magnifier, field of view, etc....

Help, anyone?

Thanks in advance... ;)

Wheelgun Dunn

• Active Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Scopes
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2009, 06:57:36 PM »
The first number(s) indicate the magnification power of the scope, the second number indicates the diameter of the objective part of the lens (that is the opposite end from where you look through, that is known as the ocular)e.g.  A 3-9 X 40mm is a scope with a variable magnification that can be adjusted as low as three times magnification to as high as nine times magnification.  There are also fixed scopes such as 4x42mm.  The second number is the diameter of the objective lens which is important because the larger that is the more light it gathers and allows through to your eye letting you shoot in lower light conditions.  Coatings are important as they improve the light transmission and quality of the scope.  Many people (like me) prefer fixed power scopes such as the aforementioned 4x42mm because there are fewer lenses in the body of the scope allowing better light transmission in lesser quality scopes.  Additionally, you always have one sight picture which I believe affords more consistent shooting.  IMHO!

Hope this helps!

Wheelgun

Timothy

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2009, 07:11:08 PM »
Thanks WG...understood every word....