Author Topic: 2014 GSSF Nationals at South River - Conyers, GA  (Read 3336 times)

alfsauve

• Semper Vigilantes
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 452
2014 GSSF Nationals at South River - Conyers, GA
« on: September 28, 2014, 05:44:40 PM »
Sorry, I didn't give everyone warning about this upcoming match.   Gunny and I were sponsoring this year's match.

(Okay, Okay.  Gunny sponsors the match.  I'm just a civilian amateur shooter.)

GSSF has done a lot of things right and improved a number of office function.  Now I hope they put some effort into their registration process.  I feel for Cindy Noyes and the others running registration.   Computers didn't work and it appears the the last weekend pre-registrations weren't processed.   Of course that dumps a lot of people into On-Site registration.  As usual, I was there early, but for the second match in a row, they didn't have my pre-registration.   It was 10am before I got to the range.  bummer.

I usually don't do well at the Nationals.  My best score every year is at River Bend in Dawsonville.  But at least I did better this year than in past years.  77.98 was my prelim score.  If you look at last year's nationals it puts me around 20 out of ~340.   For some reason there seemed to be fewer bays and longer waits.  But running the numbers through my head I don't think they had too few bays.  When I left waiting times were diminishing rapidly   I may rethink my strategy and go later in the day next year.

Gunny and I didn't connect this year.  I'm think he was doing photo-ops on the lower bays and I was shooting at the upper ones.  So no pictures this year.  :(